CCM Praise Songs With Which We Have Trouble

Rod of Alexandria over on the blog “Political Jesus” has started a new meme: “CCM Praise Songs We have Trouble With.

As someone who played drums and guitar in my Southern Baptist church’s praise band, the song I really, really, really, really hated to play and listen to: The Heart of Worship.

My problems with it:

1) If it’s “all about you”, why is this song all about what I am doing for you?

2) This song just lends itself to Michael W. Smith whispery prayers in the outro and I hate those.

3) It’s cheeseball. Enough said.

Want something beautiful and actually glorifying? Here you go.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “CCM Praise Songs With Which We Have Trouble

  1. You just haven’t been there when the music fades, and all is stripped away, so you’ve never simply, come. I mean, stop skipping out of church before the last “Amen,” and perhaps you’ll long just to, bring, something that’s of worth, that will bless His heart. Get back in the sanctuary, Josh — come back to the Heart of Worship!

    • Joshua McManaway

      I’m cut to the quick by those insightful words!

      By the way, I thought the heart of worship is Christ in the Eucharist. I guess I was wrong…

      • Whoa, whoa, Josh, stop it right there! The Eu… Eucha… er, communion? You thought that’s the Heart of Worship? Don’t you know that we’re supposed to give Him more than a song, for song in itself, is not what He has required? That, in fact, He searches much deeper within, than the way things appear — He’s looking into your heart, not at your ritual (which things are of course mutually exclusive)? Yes, Josh, you clearly need to get back in the sanctuary to come to the Heart of Worship — and it’s all about you, it’s all about you.

  2. Wait…your Southern Baptist Church…that’s not very Catholic of you…

  3. You’re singing my song. Just check out the few posts on my blog labeled “music.” I take my turn in our praise band on acoustic guitar and harmonica. Every week I question why I do it.

    • Joshua McManaway

      I laughed really hard at that last sentence because I remember asking myself the very same thing while sitting down behind the drums.

  4. This is one of the cheesiest songs in all of the CCM. Ugh.

  5. I disagree that it is cheesy, but I have never sang it when leading worship as it never seemed like a corporate worship song. More like personal reflection.

    • Joshua McManaway

      Maybe you’re right, Danny. Perhaps a different setting would make the song feel less cheesy. Thanks for the comment.

  6. Joshua McManaway

    David,

    I agree, though I’m not sure what that has to do with liking or disliking bad music.

Leave a Reply

