Study your vocab – it pays off.

My Latin vocabulary is admittedly very weak. I think I’m good with morphology, but my vocab has always been my weak spot – and that means that translations which should not take me that long take me a very long time, because I live in the lexicon. As I found out a few weeks ago that I have to take my Latin final without a lexicon, I’ve been trying to cram as much vocabulary into my head as possible. I created a vocabulary deck of the 1400 most common Latin words and I study a set of 75 throughout the day. I have it on my computer and my iPod touch, so I can study a few here and there while I’m eating lunch or walking around campus.

I’m happy to say that this has paid off. I sat down tonight to read Augustine and only had to look up a word here and there – a far cry from what I was doing even just a month ago. This isn’t bragimony – I just want to encourage anyone who feels discouraged about learning Latin (or any other language) to be hopeful  and hunker down on learning some vocab because it makes a world of difference.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

