Dr. Anderson has me thinking

Dr. John Anderson has me thinking. As I was driving today, I was thinking of my last semester at East Carolina University. I had a lot of fun while there and my last semester was no exception. However, fond memories were soon met with a realization. Last semester I began reading Aeschylus’ “Agamemnon” with a professor and really enjoyed it, though it was incredibly tough.  I was told that it was ambitious for an undergraduate to try to tackle that text – but I realized today I’m no longer an undergraduate. My excuse for being bad at Greek is gone. I began to sweat a little. I’m headed to Notre Dame in 6 weeks. Am I suddenly expected to be able to read through Aeschylus? Will my peers be quoting Augustine in Latin from memory? No changes to my being have occurred over the summer, I don’t feel any smarter, and I certainly don’t know Greek any better than I did on graduation day (it’s probably worse due to my lack of reading Greek over the summer).  I might be in trouble.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Dr. Anderson has me thinking

  1. Yay, I’m a post title!

    And don’t worry, I’m sure you will be fine. When I got to Duke my Hebrew was not that great at all. I grew in confidence and competence very much that first year by taking reading classes. All will be will. Good luck!

  2. Joshua McManaway

    Thanks, Dr. Anderson. I’ve been meaning to send you an email and tell you about my trip through Mitchell, SD.

  3. Please do send it. I look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

