I bought an iPod touch just for the apps

As a graduation gift to myself I bought an iPod touch (brand new, though off of Craigslist). I bought it mainly because I really wanted the Greek and Latin dictionary apps. After having used them for a week or so, I absolutely love them. It’s nice not hauling around my dictionaries when I travel or head to the coffee shop. I also downloaded some books (Mommsen’s ‘History of Rome’, Hilaire Belloc’s ‘Europe and the Faith’) and read all the way through G.K. Chesterton’s “The Man Who was Thursday” on it while traveling last week. I didn’t think I would like reading on a screen, but it honestly wasn’t bad. I would never convert from real books to e-books, but it was nice to have a book handy wherever I went.

An app I got that was suggested by Taylor Marshall is iPieta – it has the Douay-Rheims Bible, various writings from Councils, Papal Encyclicals, readings from today’s Mass, etc. It’s fantastic. I also downloaded a program that has the Liturgy of the Hours on it. Both are really fantastic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

