The Locative in Homer and The Life of Brian

We are translating Homer’s Odyssey in my Greek class. We’ve begun book 1 and we came across something that I’ve not encountered in Sophocles’ Antigone (which I translated last semester) nor the New Testament or the few Fathers I’ve read in Greek : the locative. I realize that Latin utilizes the locative, but I had not realized that Greek had this as well. I thought everyone just used the dative of place, but Homer likes to have things his way. Because Classicists are nerds (as most, if not all, Biblical scholars are), we watched this short clip from Life of Brian today to see the locative in action in Latin:

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Locative in Homer and The Life of Brian

  1. I had forgotten all about that, thanks for the post. Grammar can indeed be great fun.

Leave a Reply

